Who I Want to Be

Who I Want to Be

  1. What do you want to do for a career?

For a career, I hope to become a Director of Christian Education (DCE).

  1. Where would you like to see yourself in 5-6 years? …or after college

I plan on going to college to pursue this career and I want to attend the Concordia in Seward, NE. After I graduate after four years or so of college, I plan on doing an internship at a church for a year. Once the year of internship is done, I hope to settle in a church permanently and pursue my dreams of becoming and being a DCE.

  1. What are some reasons that you want to do this for a career?

I want to become a DCE because I’ve always loved going to church and have loved the work and ministry that the DCEs at my own church do. Another reason I want to be a DCE because one of our DCEs, Michael, has been at our church for fifteen years now and he has been very influential towards me and other youth and has done such amazing work with not only the youth but the adults as well. Two other DCEs that we’ve had and have are Josh and Brian and the have influenced be as well in too many ways to count. Another reason why I want to become a DCE is because my youth program is very active and we are always looking to do and we go on mission trips and I think they’re amazing and eye-opening and our DCEs have spent time making sure these all work out. I think it’s cool how when the trips work out, how amazing it is to see the adults and youth bond and connect and how the memories stay there and last forever and all of these reasons make my passion for being a DCE stronger than ever before.

  1. What are some drawbacks, fears, or concerns you have about attaining this goal?

Some fears and apprehensions I have is when at college, I’ll be six hours away from home and I’ve always been a home body and it would be a big adjustment. I also fear that when I go to be an intern or when I finally settle in a church, that I will be far away from my family and lose the good connections I have with them.

  1. How realistic is this career aspiration? How idealistic?

Can you make the ideal real? How?

I think this career is realistic and is able to be done, but it’ll take time to get adjusted and finally settle into a place that I love to work at and the place where I love the people. I think it also depends on the place you are looking into working at, whether it’s in the country or in a big city.

Leave a Reply

